Post Date
Feb 26 2024

School External Appointments Promotion and Tenure Committee Chair

I am very happy to be able to announce that Professor Sally M Benson of Stanford University has agreed to serve as Chair of the SBASSE external School Appointment, Promotion, and Tenure Committee (eSAPTC), in succession to Professor Robert L. Jaffe of MIT.  Sally is the Precourt Family Professor in the Department of Energy Resources Engineering at Stanford and her interests include geological carbon storage.  She is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and has served as an advisor to the US Government.    Sally is not only a very distinguished scientist, but a great friend of both LUMS and Pakistan, with links to Lahore that go back to her childhood.  I am grateful for what she has already done for LUMS as a member of the Advisory Board and eSAPTC and look forward to working with her in her new role.

I also want to express my deep gratitude to Prof. Jaffe.  Bob has acted as Chair of eSAPTC since its inception, and the care and thoughtfulness that he has brought to the role are outstanding.  It is always a pleasure to read his clearly expressed summaries of the committee’s deliberations.  Under Bob’s leadership, eSAPTC has played a key role in the development of the School’s tenure and promotions procedure, so that it has become a model of rigour.  We are very happy that he will continue to serve as a member of eSAPTC in the future.

Prof. Walther Schwarzacher
Dean Syed Babar Ali School of Science and Engineering