Honorific Fellowships

Honorific Fellowships (merit based) for undergraduates in the fundamental sciences 


The Syed Babar Ali School of Science and Engineering is pleased to announce the creation of twenty four (24) Fellowships for undergraduates in the basic sciences (life sciences, chemistry, mathematics, and physics). These Fellowships are named after distinguished academics, teachers, practitioners, and scientists who have made distinct contributions to the learning of science and maths, or who have made revolutionary discoveries describing our universe. 

These Fellowships are created from a generous donation received from Packages Limited honouring the 90th birthday of the Founder of the School, Syed Babar Ali. The Fellowships are aimed to bolster interest in fundamental science and to incentivize students to major in basic sciences (physics, chemistry, life sciences and mathematics). The creation of these Fellowships will draw more students towards their genuine passion. 

This programme will pilot for three years starting from the 2021-22 academic sessions. To find out the rules and eligibility criteria, please click here.

These distinguished fellowships are named as follows:

Name of Distinguished Fellowship


Bilqees Mujeeb Fellowship

Life Sciences

Ahmed H. Zewail Fellowship


Khawaja Dil Muhammad Fellowship


Chandrasekhar Fellowship



Complete lists of Honorific Fellowships:

Video Testimonials:


Ahmed Zewail Fellowship

Chandrasekhar Fellowship

Dil Muhammad Fellowship




Brief biographies of the honored academics follow: