Belonging and Equity

The Council for Belonging and Equity will help in all matters of equity, diversity and inclusion within the Syed Babar Ali School of Science and Engineering.

Belonging and Equity

The Syed Babar Ali School of Science and Engineering’s Council on Equity and Belonging is committed to devising ways to provide a safe, inclusive, and respectful learning, living, and working environment for its students, faculty, and staff. We have created this Council after listening to your valuable suggestions and aspirations for the environment that we all like to see develop at the School. Our meetings with students and listening to their narratives have catalyzed the creation of this group.

The Council for Belonging and Equity will help in all matters of equity, diversity and inclusion within the SSE. The Council will suggest steps that the School needs to take for ensuring that ALL students have ways and means to report uncomfortable behaviours, unwelcoming spaces and untoward situations. It will also help create mechanisms, announce codes of conduct and provide training to curb indecorous behaviour. 

In short, the Council will provide an informal mechanism to address bias, discrimination, harassment, and sexual and related misconduct.

The Council will also help students connect to LUMS’s Sexual Harassment Committee and the Office of Accessibility and Inclusion which are the only official forums set by the University on these matter. Therefore the Council will not adjudicate on formal complaints (which is the purview of official University committees), rather it will provide a platform which is immediately approachable, accessible and can guide the School’s operations and policies towards creating an atmosphere to which everyone cherishes a feeling of deep belonging.

Belonging and Equity

The Council is led by Dr. Maryam Mustafa from the CS Department and comprises the following members:

Dr. Maryam Mustafa (Convenor) 
Dr. Mobin Javed 
Dr. Ihsan Ayub Qazi 
Dr. Agha Ali Raza
Dr. Zafar Ayyub Qazi
Dr. Shaper Mirza 
Dr. Rizwan Khalid 
Dr. Haniya Azam 
Dr. Habib ur Rehman 

Ms. Khalida Asif
Ms Zeenat Mazhar (Student) 
Mr Nouman abbasi (Student) 
MS Ayesha Ahmad (Student) 
Ms Anushe Zohair (Student) 
Romaisa Sana (Dean’s Office) 
Ms. Kaneez Amna



  • Inclusion of clause on accessibility and inclusion (7 Sep 2020): we will incorporate statements on harassment, diversity, and inclusion in our course outlines. These will help create awareness and sensitivity for our Faculty, Students, and TA's on these matters. Samples are here: Sample1 and Sample2