Event date:
Nov 11 2022 11:30 am

Physics Colloquium Series: Advanced RF device characterization at the National Measurements Institute of The Netherlands

Faisal Ali Mubarak
SBASSE 10-201
This talk provides an overview of RF characterization activities at VSL, the National Measurements Institute of the Netherlands. Vector Network Analyzers (VNAs) have established themselves as the cornerstone measurement technology in the radiofrequency (RF) and microwave industry. With continuous down-scaling of semiconductor circuits, the evolution of supporting measurement infrastructure plays a significant role in developing new technologies. For this purpose, traditional RF measurement systems are facing significant challenges that must be addressed. The overview will demonstrate VSL's state-of-art RF characterization activities for diverse applications, like characterization carbon nano-tubes, extending S-parameters in the cryogenic environment for quantum computing, and autonomous probing for submillimeter wave characterization. VSL aims to provide the measurement infrastructure for the telecommunications, defence, security, space, and healthcare sectors.

Faisal Ali Mubarak (M’12) was born in Lahore, Pakistan, in 1982. He received a B.Sc. degree in electrical engineering from the Rijswijk Polytechnic Institute of Technology, Rijswijk, The Netherlands, in 2006 and an M.Sc. degree in electrical engineering from the Delft University of Technology, Delft, The Netherlands, in 2009. In 2009, he joined the VSL-Dutch Metrology Institute, Delft, where he is currently leading the RF & Microwave measurements group as a Principal Research Scientist. His current research interests include RF component measurement techniques up to millimetre-wave frequencies. In 2017, he was one of the co-founders of Vertigo Technologies, Delft, a company developing innovative measurement techniques and instruments. Mr Mubarak is a member of the International Consultative Committee for Electricity and Magnetism Working Group on Radiofrequency Quantities and the European Association of National Metrology Institutes technical sub-committee on Radiofrequencies and Microwaves (WG-RF). He is also a member of the IEEE MTT-11 Technical Committee. He was a corecipient of the Outstanding Group Achievement Award of the Delft University of Technology and the Ritsema van Eck Prize for designing and launching the first Dutch university satellite in 2007.

Visitors from outside LUMS register here.