Talk on ‘Dynamic Wireless Charging of Electric Vehicles’

Wednesday, January 29, 2020 - 5:30pm

The Syed Babar Ali School of Science and Engineering presents

‘Dynamic Wireless Charging of Electric Vehicles'

Speaker: Dr. Khurram Afridi, Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Cornell University

Date: Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Time: 5:30 - 6:30 pm
Venue: 9-B2, SBASSE, LUMS

About the talk
Dr. Khurram Afridi will use examples from his group’s research on capacitive wireless charging (as opposed to the more common inductive techniques), which leverage very high frequency power electronics to highlight the opportunities and challenges in dynamic wireless charging of electric vehicles.

Road transportation, which accounts for 22 percent of greenhouse gas emissions, is undergoing a major transformation with the advent of ridesharing, autonomous driving, and vehicle electrification. Collectively these technologies, in conjunction with renewable sources of electricity, have the potential to dramatically reduce the negative impact of road transportation on the health of the planet. The successful convergence of these technologies will require electric vehicles that are low cost and fully autonomous. These attributes can be realised through dynamic wireless charging. However, this will require wireless charging technology that is well beyond current capabilities, and opens new areas of research related to power and transportation infrastructure.

About the Speaker

Dr. Afridi received his Bachelors degree in Electrical Engineering from Caltech, and MS and PhD degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from MIT. His research interests are in power electronics and energy systems incorporating power electronic controls. His experience includes positions at CU Boulder, MIT, LUMS, Techlogix, Schlumberger, Philips, Lutron, and JPL. He is an associate editor of the IEEE Transactions on Transportation Electrification and the IEEE Journal of Emerging and Selected Topics in Power Electronics, and was the Technical Programme Committee Chair for the IEEE Wireless Power Transfer Conference 2015. He has received Caltech’s Carnation Merit Award, the BMW Scientific Award, the LUMS Werner-von-Siemens Chair, and the NSF CAREER Award. He has co-authored five IEEE prize winning papers.